In the new Parliament, 136 MPs have committed to reversing school cuts.

They heard our demands during the General Election and promised to deliver for our schools in this Parliament. Now, we just need to hold these MPs to account on any school funding decisions they make. 

Politicians from every party have been promising to fix the school funding crisis for years. But from experience we know that there is often a wide gap between promises and reality.

That’s why at the 2019 General Election, we used our power to hold candidates standing for Parliament to account.

In the lead up to polling day, we gave every candidate a choice. They could commit to reversing school cuts, or compromise on our children’s education.  

In just a few weeks, the response to our calls was incredible. 

Over 13,000 people secured pledges from 884 Prospective Parliamentary Candidates. 

As a direct result of our efforts, 21% of MPs elected in the current Parliament have now committed to protect school funding and give every child a decent education.

Here’s how the MP pledges breakdown by party: 

Party Number of MPs who pledged to reverse school cuts




Liberal Democrats





136 MPs

Each of these MPs has pledged to make sure school funding commitments:

  1. Reverse cuts to per-pupil funding suffered since 2015 for every school
  2. Consist of new money from the Treasury 
  3. Restore funding to all ages and all needs, including early years, SEND and post-16
  4. Provide a ten-year funding plan so schools can plan for the long-term
  5. Address historic underfunding by levelling up all areas of the country
  6. Fully fund new commitments such as pay rises and other new costs

So what happens next?

Politicians follow public opinion. Having cross-party support on the issue of school funding is an important first step. 

Now, we just need to hold these MPs to account on any school funding decisions they make.

This includes asking MPs to challenge the Prime Minister to keep his election promise to ‘level up’ school funding. The truth is, the funding this Government has pledged falls woefully short for 83% of schools this year.

Here’s what can you do right now to help get the word out:

  1. Share this campaign with 5 people you know
  2. Share the petition to pressure the Government to stop school cuts
  3. Call your MP and ask them to raise school funding cuts with the Prime Minister

Here’s the full list of MPs who have pledged to reverse school cuts:

Constituency Name of MP Party Number of nursery schools
in the local area
Alyn and Deeside Mark Tami Labour 0
Ashton-under-Lyne Angela Rayner Labour 0
Batley and Spen Tracy Brabin Labour 0
Battersea Marsha de Cordova Labour 0
Bethnal Green and Bow Rushanara Ali Labour 0
Birkenhead Mick Whitley Labour 0
Birmingham Jess Phillips Labour 0
Birmingham, Edgbaston Preet Gill Labour 0
Birmingham, Erdington Jack Dromey Labour 0
Birmingham, Hall Green Tahir Ali Labour 0
Birmingham, Hodge Hill Liam Byrne Labour 0
Birmingham, Selly Oak Steve McCabe Labour 0
Blackburn Kate Hollern Labour 0
Blaydon Liz Twist Labour 0
Bolton South East Yasmin Qureshi Labour 0
Brent Central Dawn Butler Labour 0
Brentford and Isleworth Ruth Cadbury Labour 0
Brighton, Kemptown Lloyd Russell-Moyle Labour 0
Brighton, Pavilion Caroline Lucas Green 0
Bristol East Kerry McCarthy Labour 0
Bristol North West Darren Jones Labour 1
Bristol West Thangam Debbonaire Labour 0
Camberwell and Peckham Harriet Harman Labour 0
Cambridge Daniel Zeichner Labour 4
Canterbury Rosie Duffield Labour 0
Chesterfield Toby Perkins Labour 0
City of Durham Mary Foy Labour 0
Coventry North West Taiwo Owatemi Labour 0
Coventry South Zarah Sultana Labour 0
Croydon Central Sarah Jones Labour 0
Croydon North Steve Reed Labour 0
Dagenham and Rainham Jon Cruddas Labour 0
Denton and Reddish Andrew Gwynne Labour 1
Doncaster North Ed Miliband Labour 0
Dulwich and West Norwood Helen Hayes Labour 2
Ealing Central and Acton Rupa Huq Labour 0
Ealing, Southall Virendra Sharma Labour 0
Easington Grahame Morris Labour 3
Edmonton Kate Osamor Labour 0
Ellesmere Port and Neston Justin Madders Labour 0
Eltham Clive Efford Labour 0
Enfield North Feryal Clark Labour 0
Enfield, Southgate Bambos Charalambous Labour 0
Erith and Thamesmead Abena Oppong-Asare Labour 1
Exeter Ben Bradshaw Labour 2
Feltham and Heston Seema Malhotra Labour 0
Garston and Halewood Maria Eagle Labour 0
Gateshead Ian Mearns Labour 1
Greenwich and Woolwich Matthew Pennycook Labour 0
Hackney North and Stoke Newington Diane Abbott Labour 0
Halton Derek Twigg Labour 3
Hammersmith Andrew Slaughter Labour 4
Hampstead and Kilburn Tulip Siddiq Labour 0
Harrow West Gareth Thomas Labour 1
Hartlepool Mike Hill Labour 0
Hayes and Harlington John McDonnell Labour 1
Holborn and St Pancras Keir Starmer Labour 1
Hornsey and Wood Green Catherine West Labour 0
Houghton and Sunderland South Bridget Phillipson Labour 4
Hove Peter Kyle Labour 0
Huddersfield Barry Sheerman Labour 0
Ilford North Wes Streeting Labour 0
Ilford South Sam Tarry Labour 0
Islington North Jeremy Corbyn Labour 2
Jarrow Kate Osborne Labour 4
Kingston and Surbiton Edward Davey Liberal Democrats 1
Kingston upon Hull East Karl Turner Labour 0
Kingston upon Hull North Diana R. Johnson Labour 1
Kingston upon Hull West and Hessle Emma Hardy Labour 0
Lancaster and Fleetwood Cat Smith Labour 1
Leeds North East Fabian Hamilton Labour 0
Leeds North West Alex Sobel Labour 0
Leeds West Rachel Reeves Labour 0
Leicester East Claudia Webbe Labour 0
Leicester West Liz Kendall Labour 0
Lewisham West and Penge Ellie Reeves Labour 0
Lewisham, Deptford Vicky Foxcroft Labour 0
Leyton and Wanstead John Cryer Labour 1
Liverpool Kim Johnson Labour 0
Liverpool, Wavertree Paula Barker Labour 1
Luton North Sarah Owen Labour 3
Luton South Rachel Hopkins Labour 3
Makerfield Yvonne Fovargue Labour 0
Manchester Central Lucy Powell Labour 2
Manchester, Gorton Afzal Khan Labour 0
Middlesbrough Andy McDonald Labour 0
Newcastle upon Tyne North Catherine McKinnell Labour 1
North Tyneside Mary Glindon Labour 0
Norwich South Clive Lewis Labour 1
Nottingham East Nadia Whittome Labour 0
Nottingham North Alex Norris Labour 0
Nottingham South Lilian Greenwood Labour 1
Oldham East and Saddleworth Debbie Abrahams Labour 0
Oldham West and Royton Jim McMahon Labour 0
Oxford East Anneliese Dodds Labour 4
Oxford West and Abingdon Layla Moran Liberal Democrats 0
Plymouth, Sutton and Devonport Luke Pollard Labour 0
Poplar and Limehouse Apsana Begum Labour 1
Portsmouth South Stephen Morgan Labour 0
Putney Fleur Anderson Labour 1
Reading East Matt Rodda Labour 4
Rochdale Tony Lloyd Labour 1
Rotherham Sarah Champion Labour 1
Sefton Central Bill Esterson Labour 0
Sheffield Central Paul Blomfield Labour 2
Sheffield South East Clive Betts Labour 0
Sheffield, Hallam Olivia Frances Blake Labour 0
Sheffield, Heeley Louise Haigh Labour 0
Shipley Philip Davies Conservative 1
South Shields Emma Lewell-Buck Labour 0
Southampton, Test Alan Whitehead Labour 0
St Albans Daisy Cooper Liberal Democrats 1
St Ives Derek Thomas Conservative 0
Stalybridge and Hyde Jonathan Reynolds Labour 0
Stockport Nav Mishra Labour 3
Streatham Bell Ribeiro-Addy Labour 2
Stretford and Urmston Kate Green Labour 0
Sunderland Central Julie Elliott Labour 0
Tooting Rosena Allin-Khan Labour 1
Tottenham David Lammy Labour 3
Tynemouth Alan Campbell Labour 1
Vauxhall Florence Eshalomi Labour 2
Walsall South Valerie Vaz Labour 3
Wansbeck Ian Lavery Labour 0
Warrington North Charlotte Nichols Labour 1
Warwick and Leamington Matt Western Labour 2
Washington and Sunderland West Sharon Hodgson Labour 4
Weaver Vale Mike Amesbury Labour 0
Wentworth and Dearne John Healey Labour 1
West Ham Lyn Brown Labour 4
Westminster North Karen Buck Labour 3
Westmorland and Lonsdale Tim Farron Liberal Democrats 1
Wigan Lisa Nandy Labour 1
Wirral West Margaret Greenwood Labour 1
Worsley and Eccles South Barbara Keeley Labour 0
Wythenshawe and Sale East Mike Kane Labour 0